Core DAO and Injective chain halts, September 2026: when L1s hit pause

On 2 September 2026 Core DAO announced an emergency hard fork after validators drew excess CORE rewards, days after Injective stalled for about 3h42m to stop a $4.9M exploit — four chains paused in one week.

Voxel diamond in amber with a white pause symbol, surrounded by floating cubes on a dark background

Four blockchains hit the brakes in one week. Cronos halted and rolled back after the Tectonic exploit, Ontology paused its mainnet as a precaution, Injective stopped producing blocks for almost four hours, and on 2 September Core DAO announced an emergency hard fork after a handful of validators drew more CORE rewards than the protocol was ever meant to issue.

Each team had a reasonable explanation. Taken together, they raise an uncomfortable question for anyone who holds or swaps small-cap layer-1 tokens: how decentralized is a chain that a small group can pause, patch or rewind in an afternoon — and what happens to your transfer while they do?

Key facts

  • On 2 September 2026, Core DAO said a small group of validators had drawn more CORE block rewards than the protocol intended and announced a forward-only emergency hard fork with no rollback.
  • Coinbase paused CORE sends and receives; Bithumb and Coinone suspended deposits and withdrawals; Bitget and LBank suspended CORE deposits.
  • Injective block production stalled for about 3 hours 42 minutes on 31 August while validators deployed emergency patch v1.20.3-safeharbor.1 after roughly $4.9M was drained via binary-options settlement logic.
  • The Injective Foundation said the chain was “upgraded, not halted”; Coinbase and Coins.ph temporarily restricted INJ transfers, and INJ traded near $4.80, down about 3%.
  • In the same week, a $74M exploit of Tectonic led Cronos to halt and roll back its chain, with about $6M escaping, and Ontology paused its mainnet as a precaution.

What happened to Core DAO on September 2?

Core DAO found that a small group of validators had been drawing more CORE block rewards than the protocol was designed to issue. The team says the incident is contained, the “malicious validators” can no longer draw excess rewards, and an emergency hard fork will move the chain forward without reversing any confirmed transactions.

That’s the version Cointelegraph reported on 2 September. Core says user assets are safe. What it hasn’t said yet is how much excess CORE was issued, over what period, or whether any of it reached circulation. A postmortem is promised.

Core runs a hybrid consensus it calls Satoshi Plus, mixing Bitcoin-linked delegated proof of work with delegated proof of stake. The bug wasn’t in Bitcoin; it was in how the Core side paid validators. The fix, as The Crypto Basic also notes, is a hard fork coordinated by the same validator set.

Exchanges froze first

Exchanges didn’t wait for the postmortem. Coinbase paused CORE sends and receives. Bithumb and Coinone suspended deposits and withdrawals. Bitget suspended deposits citing wallet maintenance, and LBank suspended deposits. For anyone holding CORE on those venues, the token was temporarily stuck in place.

Was Injective hacked or just upgraded?

Both, depending on who you ask. On 31 August an attacker drained about $4.9M through Injective’s binary-options settlement logic, and block production stopped for roughly 3 hours 42 minutes while validators rolled out emergency patch v1.20.3-safeharbor.1. The foundation calls it an upgrade; CryptoSlate calls it a four-hour freeze.

The patch added an insurance-fund check and disabled binary-options settlement on mainnet. According to MPost, the exploit hinged on a market-ID collision in that settlement logic. The drained funds were bridged to Ethereum through Circle’s CCTP and consolidated into roughly 1,979.8 ETH.

The Injective Foundation says the chain was “upgraded, not halted” and that consensus, INJ and staked assets were never compromised. There was no rollback. Some validators were jailed for missing the upgrade window, Coinbase and Coins.ph restricted INJ transfers, and INJ traded around $4.80, down about 3%. A full postmortem hasn’t been published.

Four chains, one week

ChainTriggerResponseRollback
Cronos$74M Tectonic exploitChain halted and rolled back; about $6M escapedYes
OntologyPrecautionMainnet pausedNot reported
Injective~$4.9M binary-options exploit~3h42m stall, patch v1.20.3-safeharbor.1No
Core DAOExcess validator rewardsEmergency forward-only hard forkNo

The honest reading: every one of these responses limited damage. Cronos’s rollback kept all but about $6M of the $74M from leaving, Injective’s patch stopped a live drain, and Core’s fork stops unauthorised issuance. The same reading also shows that on each of these networks a coordinated group of validators can stop blocks, change rules or rewrite history quickly. That’s a governance fact, not a scandal — but it’s a risk you should price in.

If a chain can be paused to save you, it can be paused on you.

The wider market was nervous too. Bitcoin opened 2 September at $77,396, down 1.5%, and traded near $76,597 at 7:13 a.m. ET, with ETH around $2,374, according to Yahoo Finance data, as renewed US–Iran fighting weighed on risk assets.

What does a chain halt mean for a swap in progress?

A swap into or out of a paused network can’t complete until that network, and the exchange provider handling the swap, accept transfers again. If you send CORE or INJ while deposits are suspended, the provider may hold the swap until the chain resumes or refund it, which is why a correct refund address matters.

How this plays out on SwapZilla:

  • Suspended providers drop out. When a provider stops supporting a coin, its quote no longer appears, and the aggregator routes the swap through the providers still quoting that pair — or shows none if all of them paused.
  • Check network status first. Before swapping a small-cap L1 token, look at the project’s status channel and whether major exchanges have paused deposits.
  • Always set a refund address. Our refund address guide explains what to enter for each network.
  • Track, don’t resend. If a swap stalls, follow it at /track/ instead of sending a second deposit.

None of this makes a paused chain move faster. It just keeps your funds in a recoverable state while it’s paused.

Final thoughts

Emergency halts, forward-only forks and rollbacks are tools, and this week they were used mostly to protect users. But they also show where the control sits on smaller layer-1s: with a validator set small enough to agree on an emergency patch fast, and exchanges quick enough to freeze deposits within hours. Yesterday’s question about who can freeze a stablecoin applies to whole chains, too.

Before you move size on a small-cap chain, ask who can stop it, and have a refund path ready for when they do.

FAQ

What happened to Core DAO in September 2026?
On 2 September 2026 Core DAO said a small group of validators had drawn more CORE block rewards than the protocol intended. Core called the incident contained, said the malicious validators could no longer draw excess rewards, and announced a forward-only emergency hard fork with no rollback of confirmed transactions. It has not disclosed how much CORE was issued or for how long, and has promised a postmortem.
Why did Coinbase pause CORE deposits and withdrawals?
Coinbase paused CORE sends and receives after Core DAO disclosed excess validator rewards and an emergency hard fork on 2 September 2026. Other exchanges acted too: Bithumb and Coinone suspended deposits and withdrawals, Bitget suspended deposits citing wallet maintenance, and LBank suspended deposits. Exchanges typically pause a network until an emergency upgrade is complete and the chain is confirmed stable.
Was Injective hacked in August 2026?
Yes. On 31 August 2026 an attacker drained about $4.9M through Injective’s binary-options settlement logic. Block production stalled for roughly 3 hours 42 minutes while validators deployed patch v1.20.3-safeharbor.1. The funds were bridged to Ethereum via Circle CCTP and consolidated into about 1,979.8 ETH. The Injective Foundation says the chain was upgraded, not halted, and that INJ and staked assets were not compromised.
What happens to a crypto swap if the blockchain is halted?
A swap into or out of a halted blockchain cannot complete until the network and the exchange provider accept transfers again. Depending on the provider, the swap waits or is refunded, so set a correct refund address. In early September 2026 exchanges paused CORE and INJ transfers during the Core DAO and Injective incidents. On SwapZilla, providers that suspend a coin stop quoting it, and you can follow a stalled swap on the tracking page.
Which blockchains were paused in the last week of August 2026?
Four chains paused within about a week around 30 August to 2 September 2026. Cronos halted and rolled back after a $74M Tectonic exploit, with about $6M escaping. Ontology paused its mainnet as a precaution. Injective stalled for about 3 hours 42 minutes after a $4.9M exploit, and Core DAO announced an emergency forward-only hard fork over excess validator rewards.